Главная - News - Prokofiev's Festival in Brussels

Prokofiev's Festival in Brussels

<< previous next >>
The first symphonic concert of the Prokofiev Festival begins with the suite from his ballet The Steel Step, a work that depicts Soviet life in a busy railway station and then in a factory. This is followed by the Second Piano Concerto, performed by the Russian pianist Alexander Melnikov. Prokofiev reconstructed this technically demanding four-movement work in 1923 after the first version of 1913 was lost in the flames of the Russian Revolution. A year later, in Paris, Prokofiev began work on his Second Symphony, "a work of steel and iron", the undisputed apex of his Expressionist period.
02 Feb 2024, 20:00
Le pas d'acier (The Steel Step) Suite, op.41 bis
Piano Concerto No.2, op.16
Symphony No.2, op.40
Alexander Melnikov, piano
In the second symphonic concert of the Prokofiev Festival, Russian-Italian violinist Sergej Krylov performs the First Violin Concerto, written in the year of the Russian Revolution (1917). It took until 1923 for the concerto to be premiered in Paris because Prokofiev fled to the United States and then Western Europe immediately after completing the composition. One of the first violinists to play it, Joseph Szigeti, described Prokofiev's First Violin Concerto as "a mixture of fairy-tale naivety and daring wildness". Also in program rarely perfomed Prokofiev's second ballet "Chout" (about a jester who tricked seven others).
04 Feb 2024, 15:00
Violin Concerto No.1
Chout Suite, op.21 bis
Sergej Krylov, violin
Belgian National Orchestra